Our “World’s View”

Do not confuse this with the term “World View” or “Worldview”.   Generally speaking, a Worldview is the subjective reality of an individual or group of people as it relates to politics, economics, and government.   A worldview identifies ideology and practice.   It is the basic way of interpreting things and events that pervades a culture so thoroughly that it becomes that culture’s concept of reality — what is good, what is important, what is sacred, what is real.

When we say “World’s View”, we have posited a metaphysical relationship between the world we physically live in and the spiritual worlds which surround us and interact with ours.   This section begins with an attempt to describe the indescribable.


The Worlds:

There are three.   The First World, also known as the Physical World or Physical Plane. This is the world we live in; our physical, mental and spiritual reality.

This world is bordered by the Second World, also known as the Elemental World, Elemental Plane or Plane of Forces.   This is the World ruled by the Elementals.   This World exists to facilitate the flow of the energies created during ritual between the First and Third Worlds.

The Third World, also known as the Astral World or Astral Plane, is ruled by the Watchers.   These beings are the ones who receive the energies coming from the Physical Plane, as in a prayer, and return it as a manifestation, as in the response to that prayer.


The Elementals:

Elementals are spiritual entities which empower the four Elements of Creation:  Earth in the North, Air in the East , Fire in the South and Water in the West.  They look like their element, flowing, streaming, illuminating, almost invisible giant vortices of power.

Earth is the element of solidity and reflects the metaphysical principle of Law.  Air is the element of intellect and reflects the metaphysical principle of Life.   Fire is the element of action and reflects the metaphysical principle of Light.   Water is the element of fertility and reflects the metaphysical principle of Love.

They control access to the Elemental Plane, also known as the Second World and the Plane of Forces, and help the energies generated during a ritual observance move from the Physical Plane to the Astral Plane.

Overseeing these elements, and the process through which manifestation takes place, is a fifth element known as Spirit.   This etheric element pervades the other four elements.  If the four elements are said to mark the quarters of the Cosmic circle, then the fifth element may be said to comprise the substance of the circle itself.

Originally used in the Enochian Tradition of Ceremonial Magic these entities possessed attributes as follows:

North            Air             Thought & Intellect                     Male              Yellow

East              Earth         Stable, Solid, Dependable            Female          Green

South            Fire           Change, Passion, Willpower          Male              Red

West             Water        Emotions & Purification               Female           Blue

Center          Spirit         Intuitiveness                                Unisexed


The Watchers:

The concept of the Watchers goes back at least 5,000 years, possibly more.  In the early “Stellar Cults” of Mesopotamia there were four “royal” Stars which were called the Watchers.  Formalhaut, at the Winter Solstice, was the Watcher of the North.

Aldebaran, at the Vernal Equinox, was the Watcher of the East. Regulus, at the Summer Solstice, was the Watcher of the South.   Antares, at the Autumn Equinox, was the Watcher of the West.

Towers, or Ziggurats, were constructed as a form of worship and used as primitive astronomical observatories.   They had seven terraces, one for each of the then known planets.

Perceptions of their natures and roles changed from the early Stellar cults through later Solar and Lunar cults with the Greeks finally reducing them to the Gods of the four winds, and the Christians to principalities of the air.   The Cabalists organized them into Archangels with the lesser Watchers, The four great watchers, Auriel (Uriel) in the North, Raphael in the East, Michael in the South and Gabriel in the West.

Generally speaking, the Watchers do just that, watch.   In doing so, they do not judge. They determine which energies will be allowed to return and manifest in the First World and ensure the application of the Law of Three.

In Wiccan lore, the Watchers also assist in the spiritual growth of a Wiccan and escort him or her to the next realm after physical death.


The Watchtowers:

The physical manifestations of the Watchtowers are sited at the cardinal points of the compass, North, East, South and West, of a ritual circle.   Invoking the Watchtowers creates portals, or doorways, between the Physical and Astral Planes.

The portals on the inner face of the Watchtowers are known as the Elemental Portals and are guarded by the Elementals.   They represent doorways from the Physical Plane, which contains the ritual circle, to the Elemental Plane.   This area is also known as “The World Between the Worlds” because it lies between the Physical Plane and the Astral Plane.

The portals on the outer face of the Watchtowers are known as the Astral Portals. They represent doorways from the Elemental Plane to the Astral Plane and are guarded by the Watchers.

The physical manifestations of the watchtowers provide a locus for the Elementals and Watchers when they are asked to guard the ritual circle and witness the ritual.


The Circle:

A ritual circle is the foundation of any Wiccan ceremony.   Actually, the term “circle” is somewhat misleading.   What really occurs is the creation of a “sphere” of energy which serves to enclose celebrants in a sacred space.   This sphere bisects whatever surface the celebrants are standing on, whether it be the floor of a building or the ground outside a building, thus creating what we see as the ritual circle.   The sacred circle, or sphere, contains the manifestation of the First World.   It is within this space that Wiccans perform their rituals celebrating the Sabbats and Esbats.